WEF Reinvigorates Awards Program

Introducing two new opportunities to receive recognition in the water sector

Every year, the Water Environment Federation (WEF; Alexandria, Va.) recognizes outstanding members and their contributions to the water sector through a suite of awards. Recently, the WEF Board of Trustees, Awards Committee, Awards Task Force, and staff revealed new components of the awards program: Project Excellence and the Water Heroes awards.

WEF also has refreshed the awards program by renaming some honors, expanding the type of applicants accepted for others, and increasing the use of social media and other channels to announce and recognize award winners.

Reviewing the awards
The WEF Awards Task Force was charged with ensuring that the awards aligned with WEF’s vision, mission, and strategic direction. The WEF Awards Committee evaluated each of the task force’s recommendations. These members worked with staff to determine which awards needed to be revised or expanded and how to increase the visibility and value of WEF awards to recipients.

Two new awards and one award change
“Topping the list of the changes is the introduction of the Project Excellence and Water Heroes awards,” said John McGettigan, 2015 chair of the WEF Awards Committee. “Annually up to three Project Excellence awards will be presented at WEFTEC to recognize excellence and innovation in the execution of projects and programs in the water sector.”

“The Water Heroes program will recognize individuals or municipalities who go above and beyond during an emergency to continue protecting the public and environment and perform duties that elevate the status of the water sector,” McGettigan said.

In addition, newly renamed awards include the Outreach/Public Communication Program Awards and the Media and Public Education Award.

MA-awarded recognition
A group of Awards Committee chairs from six WEF Member Associations (MAs) reworked the expectations for MA members regarding the Bedell, Hatfield, Burke, and Laboratory Analyst awards. The WEF Board of Trustees approved their expectations and suggestions for MAs to present these awards including steps for promoting the awards, setting a process for selecting winners and presenting awards, and announcing selection of award winners. This process was developed to reinstitute and increase the value of these WEF awards presented during MA conferences.

Apply now
Nominations for WEF’s 2016 awards are due April 1.

Submit nominations now or read more in the WEF Highlights article, “Submit Nominations for 2016 WEF Awards.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
, , , ,

Comments are closed.